Feelings Over Facts: Don’t Tell Me the Tooth Fairy Isn’t Real

The catastrophic risk of holding too tightly to our beliefs

Robin Konie
6 min readSep 27, 2021
Simple line drawing of a brain inside of a head. Background is blue with light blue lines.
Believe | Created on Canva

Never before had I felt so betrayed. And by my own father? It was unimaginable.

“I’m so sorry,” Dad said. “I just forgot. It was an accident.”

The tears started welling up inside my eyes as he tried to explain what happened. My big (and excessively loud) extended family was enjoying a beautiful summer evening at my grandparents’ house. More than a dozen kids under the age of eight were running around the huge backyard while the adults chatted nearby.

I looked over at the large garbage bin that sat next to the picnic table. It was overflowing with plates, napkins, and empty soda bottles.

And somewhere in that pile, buried deep beneath it all, was my tooth.

“You threw it away!?” I exclaimed.

My six-year-old heart was racing as I tried to calculate what this news meant. Up until about thirty seconds ago, I thought I was on the fast track to some easy cash. While it had been loose for a while, my stubborn front tooth just wouldn’t come out. For months I had watched my friends as they showed off their tooth money. Now it was finally my turn.

--

--